What do different vehicle safety test ratings mean?

Understanding the different vehicle safety test ratings.

If you're in the market to buy a new car, you are probably also interested in a different vehicle safety test ratings and what they mean. It can be bewildering, but in order to clarify, the first thing you need to know is these ratings are managed by two different groups: the NHTSA and the IIHS.

NHTSA Ratings

The NHTSA rating system is comprised of three test. The first test measures injury potential at a 35 mph fixed barrier crash; a side impact assessment comprised of two ratings is the next test; and a rollover rating as well. However the rollover rating is not a test, rather, it is a mathematical formula based on the car's center of gravity and its width.

IIHS Ratings

The IIHS has a different crash test system that includes ratings such as poor, marginal, acceptable and good. Their test would include such things as the moderate overlap front test, the side test, roof strength test, head restraints test, and now a front crash sensor for accident prevention test. Vehicles can be either given a top safety pick award or a top safety pick Plus Award.

Not sure which car is the safest pick for your family? Give us a call today!

If you are still not sure which car is the safest pick for your family give us here at Piazza Honda of Pottstown a call today! Our knowledgeable and trained experts will answer all of your questions and will allow you to take a test drive!




Categories: New Inventory